• Here's why only 4 US states are called 'Commonwealths,' and the significance behind the label

    5 monthes ago - By Business Insider

    Only four US states have legal names that include the term Commonwealth : Kentucky, Virginia, Massachusetts, and Pennsylvania.
    Here's the historical significance behind the label .
    Maybe you first came across the term on a US history test or while watching a documentary.
    But have you ever stopped to ponder what the word " Commonwealth " really means and why it's applied to some states and territories but not others?
    The global and historical answer behind it might surprise you. SEE ALSO: 4 polls show Americans blame Trump for the government shutdown, over a border 'crisis' they don't...
    Read more ...